Where to Find Inexpensive Books

“BOOKS ARE SO EXPENSIVE” why yes yes they are. But I am going to teach you where to find books that are cheaper and maybe even free *wiggles eyebrows aggressively*

IMG_3689.jpg

IN-STORE SHOPPING 

If⎯for whatever reason⎯online shopping isn’t an option for you, there are plenty of ways that in-store shopping will be just as good.

Tip #1: Sign up for memberships in various stores.

I feel like this is a no brainer, but I’m going to say it anyway. Barnes and Noble and Books A Million offer memberships (For Barnes and Noble it’s $25 dollars) (For Books A Million it’s the same price of $25). At both stores, you get 10% off of most items always and sometimes exclusive member only discounts. And you can get special member only coupons in your email and in the mail.

Books A Million membership club

Barnes and Noble membership

Tip #2: Don’t be afraid of used book stores.

Now I may be a bit bias in this section because I. LOVE. USED. BOOK. STORES. In fact, I’m going to one later today. Used book stores are a good way to get discounted books that are *most of the time* in good condition. Do research! One of my favorite used book stores has the name “CD shop” in it. Totally throws you off unless you know. So Do. Your. Research.

My favorite used bookstore chain is called Half Price Books. Their locations are everywhere. Another reason I love this store is because they offer teacher discounts. My mom is an educator so shout out to my mom for letting me use her discounts (:

Story Time: In the summer they do a book club thing where if you write a book review and submit it, they give you a $5 gift card for Half Price Books. I actually got Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson for free with a 98 cent Mortal Instruments book mark.

490x370.jpg

Store Locations

Tip #3: Little Free Libraries

IMG_1731.jpg

How they work is this: you bring a book and then you take a book. Most of the time they don’t have a good YA selection. However, I once got Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkabaan from one. So never say never, I suppose.

Online Shopping

Tip #1: Amazon and Barnes and Noble usually have books cheaper than their retail prices. For example. . .

Screen Shot 2016-01-04 at 9.37.14 AM.png

Here’s Winger by Andrew Smith. Normal retail price for a hardcover is about $18.99 On Amazon it’s $15.29. And if you have amazon prime than you get free shipping.

Amazon Link

Tip #2: Now, my absolutely favorite website of all eternity. Book Outlet. Their books are really cheap, and they are good quality. They always have a plethora of YA books. The one catch is the price of shipping is usually over $5. During their black friday sale, I got seven books for $18. Including shipping. Honestly book outlet is the love of my life.

Book Outlet Link

 

There are many other amazing websites to find inexpensive books, but these are the ones I have used and loved. I figured it would be better if I spoke out of first hand experience.

Thanks for reading!

-Liv

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/curlyhairbibliophile

 

One thought on “Where to Find Inexpensive Books

Leave a Reply

