Books That Made Me Cry

Happy Friday! As I am spending my Friday night on my computer listening to an audiobook, what better way than to write a blog post? In this post I am going to be talking about books/book series that made me cry. Let’s go!

1.  Harry Potter series by J.K. RowlingIMG_2177.jpg

If you don’t understand why this is number one on my list, did you even read the series? I actually cried on an airplane as I finished Half-blood Prince.

2. Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Yet another, I think you understand why. This was my first book where *cough cough cough cough cough*. Pretty traumatizing.

3. Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs.

IMG_2033

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is my favorite book trilogy hands down. And the last book made me so emotional because I love this trilogy so much.

4. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

I feel like this blog is just me raving about this book. I’m definitely not sorry, though. After I finished Ready Player One, I ran into my brother’s room and just cried. This book is funny and emotional and utterly brilliant. If you read it, I will love you forever.

5. Shadowhunter related books by Cassandra Clare

IMG_9623.JPGSpecifically City of GlassCity of Heavenly Fire, and Clockwork Princess. Another book series that is one of my “HOW HAVE YOU NOT READ THIS YET?” Lady Midnight comes out in March. Hop on the train before it’s too late.

6. The Fault in Our Stars and Looking for Alaska by John Green.

IMG_2160.JPG

I actually didn’t cry in The Fault in Our Stars the first time I read it. Once I read it a second time, I bawled like a baby. I actually did cry in Looking for Alaska. I was sitting at my kitchen table and when *cough cough cough* happened I just set down my book and cried.

7. The Book Thief by Mark Zuask

This book. This. Book. The Book Thief was actually the first book I ever properly enjoyed and properly cried in. I stayed awake until 2 a.m. reading it. I had tears dashing down my face and oh man it was no pretty.

8. All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

One of my weaknesses (in the book world) is books that relate to mental illness. I love the ‘we need diverse books’ movement so that’s why I love mental illness books a lot. It’s a prominent topic we all turn the other cheek to. All the Bright Places is absolutely brilliant. Please read it.

9. Winger by Andrew Smith

I finally read this book in September of 2015. It was at my school library, and I knew I needed to read it. I still need to buy myself a copy. If you haven’t read Winger, I highly recommend it. I’m not going to comment on anything else about it so I can avoid spoiling you guys. Just read it please.

10. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. IMG_1145.jpg

Story Time: Picture 13 year old me staying awake past lights off. I’m at camp in northern Minnesota. I have twenty pages remaining. Tears rolled down my face, and I tried my hardest not to sniffle. I finished We Were Liars an hour and a half after ‘bedtime’. I am such a rebel.

 

 

And those are all of them! If there is a book I failed to mention, it is probably because I didn’t ‘sob’ during the book like with the ones I listed. Let me know in the comments what books you’ve cried in! I’d be interested to see how our books compare. See you in a future post!

-Liv

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/curlyhairbibliophile

 

One thought on “Books That Made Me Cry

Leave a Reply

