Totally Should’ve-Book Tag

I saw Katytastic video of this tag, and I thought this would be fun to do. So, let’s just dive right into it! By the way: A lot of my opinions are in Kat’s video. I promise that these are my opinions. I just agree with a lot that she said.

1. Totally should’ve gotten a sequel

IMG_2180.JPG

Ready Player One and Armada by Ernest Cline. Ernest Cline only writes stand-alones WHICH FRUSTRATES ME because his books are brilliant. Please read them.

2. Totally should’ve had a spin off series (aka my surprise-surprise answer)

IMG_2177

Honestly any books in the Harry Potter world I would gladly take. A prequel? A sequel? Anything. I just want more books from the wizarding world.

3. An author who totally should write more books

IMG_2182

Rainbow Rowell *heart eyes emoji*. She has written five books but that doesn’t feel like enough for me. I love Rainbow Rowell’s writing style, and I’m eager to see how I enjoy her future books.
4. A character who totally should’ve ended up with someone else

I actually don’t have an answer to this one. Most of the time, authors write the two characters for each other. That’s why it’s difficult for this one. So long story short, I don’t have an answer to this one!
5. Totally should’ve ended differently

IMG_2185.JPG

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. Alright, this is what I mean by this… I felt like the ending was a bit too rushed. It was (for the most part) satisfactory. I would have liked a longer conclusion for this trilogy because it was so diverse and complex. But sadly, we get Mockingjay.

6. Totally should’ve had a movie franchise

IMG_2187.JPG

Legend trilogy by Marie Lu.

I read this trilogy in seventh grade (I’m in 9th grade now) so I don’t remember a whole lot. From what I do recall, it was great. I think that this would make a great movie franchise. More so then some of the ones they are adapting now.
7. Totally should’ve had a TV show

IMG_2188

The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare.

Actually, I was disappointed when I heard that The Mortal Instruments was going to be a Television series. I have always wanted TID to be a tv series. I have a slight hope they will because the TMI series is called “shadowhunters” not “The Mortal Instruments”.
8. Totally should’ve had only one point of view

IMG_2191.JPG

Allegiant by Veronica Roth.

I feel like everyone has this opinion as well. Tris and Tobias’s POVs weren’t different. Their voices sounded the same which bothered me. I remember reading this and going back to the beginning of the chapter so I could see who was talking.
9. Totally should have a cover change

IMG_2193.JPG

Old Covers of Sarah Dessen books.

Okay so I know that her books have now changed covers. This is the only one I could think of. Don’t judge me.
10. Totally should’ve kept the original covers

IMG_2194.JPG

Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld. I actually don’t like the new covers. When I bought Pretties, my brother said: “Umm why is there a thigh on the cover.” I wanted to find the old editions of the cover, but I couldn’t find any. *sigh*. (Most people mention Across the Universe for this one. I would have except I’ve never read the series. Although, I haven’t read Uglies either… I don’t know it’s Saturday morning; I’m tired.)
11. Totally should’ve stopped at book one

IMG_2197.JPG

Katytastic actually said this in her video, and I agree so here it is: Divergent by Veronica Roth. I felt that the series had an extreme downfall. Divergent was absolutely magnificent. Insurgent was alright. And Allegiant was “hahahahaha *sound of match striking* hahahahaha *lights fire to the book* *growls* *sobs*”. Best way I can describe it, honestly.

And those are all the questions. Let me know what your answers are to these questions in the comments or in your own blog post. I tag all of you (yes all of you…Even you in the very back).

Hope you all have a good weekend (:

-Liv

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/curlyhairbibliophile

Twitter: https://twitter.com/GrangerLiv

One thought on “Totally Should’ve-Book Tag

  1. Ahhhh I AGREE WITH SO MANY OF THESE THINGS. And I feel like I’ve ranted about them all before. Like that the Uglies covers shouldn’t have been re-designed. YES YES YES. I really liked the old covers and I think people are going to get the wrong idea about the books. They’ll just think that they’re about plastic surgery…when they’re about so much more.

    And the Allegiant POV switch. YES YES YES. Honestly, the only reason she did that was to allow the ending to happen. If it was still Tris’s first person point-of-view, it wouldn’t have been able to happen (trying to remain vague in case anyone reads my comment and hasn’t read it haha). The switching bothered me so much for the very reasons you gave. I had to go back to the beginning of the chapters to see who was speaking, too.

    And then I totally want/need Rainbow Rowell to write more books. I haven’t read Carry On yet, but I’ve loved all her other books. Her writing style is just so smart and relatable and beautiful.

    Great tag!

    Like

Leave a Reply

