Book Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer

Winter-final

Goodreads Link

Barnes and Noble Link

Marissa Meyer Website

It’s difficult to write a review for a book that is at the end of a series. I’m going to make this review as spoiler-free as possible. I’m reviewing this as the perspective as “I’ve read all the books except for this one. This book seems a bit long and I don’t know if I should read this.” I’m going to talk about some of the things I liked and I didn’t like.

  • I liked how all the characters interacted well. For example, there were moments (I’m not going to say what moments because spoilers) when Kai and Cress would interact. And Kai and Iko.
  • HOW THERE WASN’T A LOVE TRIANGLE. I am so over the trope of love triangles. It never happens in real life, and Marissa could have easily slipped in a love triangle. But she didn’t. I will be forever grateful.
  • I liked how there were very few dull moments.
  • I didn’t like the overall pacing of the book. There were parts when I thought “wait, this should be happening at the end of a book…”

Overall, this was a solid finale for a brilliant series. I think my favorite of the four has to be Cress. I am actually meeting Marissa Meyer on the 6th of February. I am crazy hyped because after reading her books she is definitly one of my favorite authors. I can’t wait to meet her, and I’ll be making a blog post about it afterwards.

-Liv

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/curlyhairbibliophile

Twitter: https://twitter.com/GrangerLiv

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

