Book Review: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

17984141

Goodreads Link

Barnes and Noble Link

Book Outlet Link

Marie Lu’s Website

“Everyone has darkness inside them, however hidden.”

I actually didn’t fly through this book like I had hoped I would. In fact, I fell into a mini reading slump while I was reading this. I had to really push myself to read and boy I’m glad I did.

Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of an illness called the Blood Fever. The children who end up surviving the blood fever usually receive a special mark and powers. The society they live in despises malfettos (malfettos are the survivors of the blood fever who are left with a mark) and thinks they are an abomination to society. In order to be safe from society, a group of malfettos create a group called the Young Elites.

That is pretty much all I can say without getting too spoilery. The first part of the book was a bit slow for me. I felt that Marie Lu’s writing was very different in this book than her trilogy Legend. The second half of the book completely drew me in though. I also wish that there was more development with the other elites in this book.  We really got to know two of the elites, and I love character interaction so that’s the only thing this book lacked.I really enjoyed the characters we did get to know though

I rated this book a 4/5 stars on Goodreads. Don’t let the slowness of the first half deter you from picking this book up. It’s absolutely brilliant, and I can’t wait to read The Rose Society. 

Do you agree or disagree with my opinion? Let me know in the comments! Comments absolutely make my day, and I love interacting with you guys in my posts. Thanks for Listening!

-Liv

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/curlyhairbibliophile

Twitter: https://twitter.com/GrangerLiv

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

  1. Yay! I’m glad you love it in the end. 😀 I was definitely caught up in this book, since the start. I guess Adelina just called out to me. I can’t wait to read The Rose Society too, but on the other hand, I’m quite scared xD

    Like

  2. Great review! I’ve wanted to pick up a Marie Lu book and I think this would be a great place to start, as Legend didn’t really engage my attention. It’s unfortunate that the first part is slow–that sometimes makes or breaks a book for me. 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

