Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read That Were Out of My Usual Genre

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Ten Books That You’ve Enjoyed That Wasn’t Your Typical Genre. I love this idea, so I decided to join in. (By the way: Most of these books I haven’t read recently. Most of these were read over the course of 3-4 years).

1. The Book Thief by Mark Zusak.

1118668.jpg

Saying that I enjoyed this book is an extreme understatement. This book is a historical fiction which isn’t my usual genre. None the less, this book impacted me in so many ways. For one, this book inspired me to cherish words and read more.

2. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

and_then_there_were_none_cover-2.jpeg

Classics and I usually never mix. The writing style is always a bit slow for me, and I find English teachers’ attempt to find literary devices in the story a bit laborious. And Then There Were None was actually an assigned book I had to read for school. And.I.Loved.It. The story was always moving and active without trying too hard. I am so thankful I was assigned this book.

3. Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek by Maya Van Wagenen

18667753.jpg

I’m not a huge fan of nonfiction books. I have nothing against them; I just don’t find them all that interesting. This book totally contradicts everything I said in the previous sentences. Popular was such a refreshing nonfiction. It had such a nice plot and a nice message. If you are looking for a good nonfiction, I highly recommend this one.

4. The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom
272676

(See above for the reason why another nonfiction is on this list). The Hiding Place is such an interesting nonfiction. My favorite time period in history to learn about is the Holocaust (see above for The Book Thief). Corrie’s story is so depressing and meaningful. If you enjoy learning more about the Holocaust, I highly recommend this book.

5. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

71ZlxOeCx4L.jpg

I adore Rainbow Rowell’s books. I wasn’t sure how Attachments would compare because it is categorized as an adult book. But this Rainbow Rowell book was no exception. I do enjoy her YA books more, but her adult books as just as fantastic.

6. Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley

Seconds_Cover.jpg

Before this book, I had never read a graphic novel. Seconds quickly changed my mind. The artwork was phenomenal, and I’m so glad that I read it. His Scott Pilgrim series is just as brilliant. It might even be better.

7. The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

Westing_cover

I had to read The Westing Game in 6th grade for literature class.This was one of the few assigned books that I did enjoy. It was nicely paced and actually quite interesting.

8. Rumble by Ellen Hopkins

20726924.jpg

I read Ellen Hopkins’s book, Crank, and I thought it was okay. But I loved Rumble. It isn’t my usual book (with the story being told in a poetry format). I enjoyed the poetic element, and this book definitely made me want to read more books by her.

10. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

693208

Can you guess why this book is on my list? Yes? No? Well, the reason is because I was assigned this for school. This book has become one of my absolute favorites. The setting is interesting and so are the characters.

10. Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate

Crenshaw_Final.jpg

I picked up this up at Half Price Books because I thought it looked cute. It seemed like a nice book that has big font so that I can fly through it. Boy, was I wrong. This book seemed very real to me (despite it being about a giant cat). I have never felt so many emotions in such a small book.

 

I hope you guys enjoyed this post! Let me know down in the comments what books that you enjoyed that are out of your normal genre. See you in my next post!

-Liv

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/curlyhairbibliophile

Twitter: https://twitter.com/GrangerLiv

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read That Were Out of My Usual Genre

  1. Great list! I read The Westing Game almost 15 years ago– at the time I remembered loving it. I can’t remember much about it now, though. I’m about to pick it back up, because I’m tutoring an 11 year old girl, and thought it could be a match for her. Same thing for Sherman Alexie– I haven’t picked up “Part Time Indian” in ages!

    My list is here: http://brownbooksandgreentea.com/2016/02/23/reading-outside-of-my-comfort-zone/

    Like

Leave a Reply

