Book Review: The Rose Society by Marie Lu

23846013.jpg

Goodreads Link

Barnes and Noble Link

“But true rulers are not born. We are made.”

If you have not read The Young Elites, I recommend you go check my review over it! [Click Here]The Rose Society is the second book in the trilogy. Proceed with caution because this review may contain spoilers for the first book! You have been warned…

Adelina Amouteru’s heart has suffered heartbreak beyond belief. She has turned on her friends and family to find a new life in the path of evil. She escapes Kenettra with her sister to find other Elites in the hopes of building her own army of allies. Her goal is to destroy the people who almost destroyed her.

Again, I’m not going to go into too much detail because I don’t want to spoil anyone. This book is incredibly dark. Adelina takes the anti-hero moniker to a whole new level. Several times I wanted to just reach inside the book and say: “Uh…Adelina, do you need a hug? Maybe a cup of tea?”. Be prepared for the dark element of this book when you read it. I’m hoping that we continue to learn more and more about the characters in the final book. I love getting to know this unique cast of characters, and I want more!

I don’t know what it is but the first two books took me a good 1-2 weeks to finish (that’s actually quite long for me). Marie Lu’s writing is a bit slow in The Young Elites trilogy and that makes immersing myself into these books more difficult. I rated this book a 4 stars on Goodreads. In real star rating, I would rate this a 3.5 out of 5 stars. I can’t wait until Book Three because I’m curious to see how she wraps everything up.

What did you guys think of The Rose Society? Do you agree or disagree with my opinion? Let me know in the comments. See you in my next post!

-Liv

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/curlyhairbibliophile

Twitter: https://twitter.com/GrangerLiv

One thought on “Book Review: The Rose Society by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

