Book Review: Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

 

7488244

Goodreads Link

Barnes and Noble Link

Clara Gardener is not a normal human. Her mom is half angel which makes Clara part angel. This unique part of her makes her faster and stronger in everything she does. Being part angel means that she has a special purpose: the reason why she was placed on the earth. What she has to do is delivered in pieces through visions. These visions cause her family to move to a different town in a new state. She then meets Christian⎯the boy who haunts her visions. But, obstacles get in the way. There’s another boy, Tucker, in the picture.

I’ve had Unearthly on my shelf for YEARS. I bought it a few years ago, and I just haven’t picked it up. I’m very glad I did because this book was good. It wasn’t spectacular; it was just good. The story surrounds angel-like beings which is something I’ve never read before. The characters and the plot were enjoyable, but the writing style felt quite basic to me.

The main character, Clara, was actually quite a good protagonist. She was *for the most part* quite level-headed and intelligent. This book falls into the ‘love triangle’ trope category. However, the love triangle wasn’t obnoxious like other infamous love triangles in YA. Unearthly is perfect for a light vacation read. The book flew right by for me, and I look forward to picking up the next book.

I rated this book a 4/5 stars on Goodreads. Unearthly was a good book and that’s the best way I can put it. Cynthia Hand will be attending the book festival I am attending, and I hope I will get the chance to meet her.

Have you guys read Unearthly? Do you want to read Unearthly? Let me know down in the comments. Thanks for reading! I’ll see you soon. Bye!

-Liv

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/curlyhairbibliophile

Twitter: https://twitter.com/GrangerLiv

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

  1. Ooh, this sounds like quite a fun read! Sometimes I like these lighthearted paranormal reads as a sort of detox after reading something heavy/serious. To be honest, I hadn’t heard of this book before reading your review, but I may pick it up if I’m in the mood for a paranormal romance. Thanks Liv!

    Like

Leave a Reply

