Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (Red Queen #1) {Book Review}

41vtpdcaq5l-_sx330_bo1204203200_

Goodreads Link

Mare Barrow lives in a world where everyone is separated by two things: Red and Silver. Silver bloods are at the top of the social class, and the Reds are at the very bottom. The only thing on the horizon for Mare is being sent off to fight a war that doesn’t even belong to the Reds. That’s the plan, until she ends up working in the Silver Palace. Even though Mare bleeds red, she contains powers that should only belong to Silvers. The Silvers have to hide her ability, calling her a long-lost Silver princess. Despite living amongst the Silvers, Mare works with a group called ‘The Scarlet Guard’. The Scarlet Guard is a rebel group, determined to destroy the Silver authority.

I have heard very mixed things about this book. I asked countless people, whether or not I should read it. People seemed to either love it or hate it. When a book has mixed opinions, I generally decide not to read it. Victoria Aveyard is attending NTTBF, so I figured I should give it a chance. Boy, I am so glad I did.

I loved the characters in Red Queen. They were really interesting and fairly complex. There were quite a few minor characters, and I had a difficult time remembering who was who. The world build was quite interesting, and it was cool diving into the world and seeing how everything is setup before we start with Mare on her journey. Mare was quite a good protagonist; she was level-headed unlike most dystopian/fantasy main characters.
The only thing that I didn’t like about the book was the originality. It fell into the ‘love triangle’/’who will she chose?!?!!’ trope which annoyed me when I noticed it starting to form. The plot felt very much like a mix of several different young adult books mixed into one. I felt elements of The Hunger Games, The Selection, Divergent, etc. The book was a very quick read, even though I took a week to read it (I had too much homework). Never-the-less, I still loved Red Queen.

-Liv

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/curlyhairbibliophile

Twitter: https://twitter.com/GrangerLiv

8 thoughts on “Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (Red Queen #1) {Book Review}

  1. Pingback: April Wrap-Up
  2. I definitely agree that Red Queen is a love-it-or-hate-it sort of book. (Personally I loved it, and am glad to see that you liked it too!) For me, I think this book is more of a fun/trashy/light read than a serious or involved fantasy. It’s excellent escapist material, and we all need that in our lives – or at least I do!

    Are you going to be reading Glass Sword anytime soon?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is on my TBR list, good to know the protagonist won’t be a bore! The love triangle will annoy me too though :/ Are you planning on reading Glass Sword?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

