Book Review: Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen

9780142414729_LockAndKey_CV.indd

Goodreads Link

Ruby is no stranger to independence. After her drunken mother abandoned her, she is removed and placed with her sister and her husband in a suburban home. Ruby is placed in a private school. For the first time in her life, she actually has a chance to have a successful future. Not to mention that there’s a boy-next-door crush named Nate.

I’m going to start out by saying I LOVED THIS BOOK. The characters were so unique and real. All the characters went through very real character development. This story was very focused on Ruby and what family means to her. The ‘family’ she has with her sister and her brother-in-law was one of my favorite aspects of the book. They were very supportive and loving of Ruby, even when she didn’t deserve it.

Of course, Lock and Key being a Sarah Dessen book, romance played a role in the overall plot. It wasn’t a main factor, however. The relationships  (romantic and platonic) that are in this book are well-developed and beautiful. I never felt like anything was rushed or over exaggerated.

I rated this book a 5/5 stars on Goodreads, and this has become one of my favorite books. If you are interested in reading a Sarah Dessen novel, I highly recommend Lock and Key. I’m actually meeting Sarah Dessen today (as of 4/22/16), and I can’t wait to get this beautiful book signed!

Please Note: Lock and Key deals with very real topics, and it could possibly be a trigger for neglect, physical abuse, etc.

Have you guys read any other Sarah Dessen books? Which ones should I pick up next? Thanks for reading, and I will see you guys soon in a new post. Bye!

-Liv

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen

  1. I have very mixed views on Sarah Dessen, but I really enjoyed this one. I thought the characters were very easy to connect to, and her writing is always so good.

    Like

  2. Short and sweet review, Liv! I will admit, the only Sarah Dessen book I’ve read was The Truth About Forever, but this one sounds nice. 🙂 I imagine her books are these light, fluffy, sweet romances that are pretty ‘real’, in a way? Thanks for the review Liv; I’ll pick this up if I feel like a light read. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

