Illuminae Book Signing: Meeting Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

On May 7th, I had the pleasure of attending a book signing for Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. They are the authors of Illuminae and Gemina (basically one of the coveted ARCS right now). They were really sweet and hilarious and this might have been one of my favorite book events I have ever attended.

I arrived about an hour and a half early, and they didn’t even have the chairs set up yet. At an hour til’, Avery (from Averyreadsalot/Averyreadsalot) came to the Barnes and Noble.2d4dd5d2-0f91-4712-9a53-03dd70d0443f We went to the event area, and there was only about twenty chairs set up. Avery and I snagged the front row which was EXTREMELY close to the table. I’m not kidding; I could reach in front of me and touch the table. After about twenty minutes, Wren (http://thelitaku.blogspot.com/) came. Avery, Wren, and I just talked bookish things for the remainder of the wait.

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 9.25.07 PM.png
Picture stolen from Jay’s instagram. I’m second to the left, Avery’s next to me, and Wren’s on the floor

The panel(?) was one of the best I’ve ever heard. Mary (http://knoxdiver.blogspot.com/) moderated it, and she did such a good job. Amie and Jay were really intelligent and hilarious which made the event even better. Illuminae is written in documents and emails which is definitly not a normal way to write books. It was interesting to hear their writing process and hidden easter eggs.

The signing portion was one of the most lowkey signings I have ever been to. Since there weren’t too many of us, we just lined up whenever we felt like it. While Amie and Jay signed my book, I asked them what their hogwarts houses are. Jay is a Slytherin, and Amie is a Ravenclaw. 🙂

They were both such genuinely nice people, and I highly recommend you attend a signing of theirs if you are able to. The event was only an hour and a half which was lovely because it wasn’t exhausting like most book events. It was really calm and lovely.

Here are some more pictures from the event:

13b3da31-f790-4474-b07f-24ce668d604fc4195fb1-7236-4111-a060-93ee0b7c8f1e84e7fa29-9801-4f7a-9cdc-c7c9daaafcd6

Have any of you met Amie or Jay? Do you want to?

-Liv

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Illuminae Book Signing: Meeting Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

  1. Pingback: May Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

