Book Review: The Crown by Kiera Cass

NOTE: THIS REVIEW WILL HOLD SPOILERS FOR THE SELECTION SERIES UP UNTIL THE HEIR.

26074181.jpg

Goodreads Link

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

One of my first thoughts about The Crown: the overall book is pretty short. It’s about 279 pages which scared me a bit. I think the page number did have an effect on the book. The Crown (for me) wasn’t a really satisfying ending for this second half of The Selection series in my opinion. I felt like The Heir went rather slow, but The Crown was just trying to quickly wrap up the series. It was a moderately satisfying ending; I would have just liked a better closing than the one we did get.

However, one massive improvement was the character of Eadlyn. In The Heir she was such a brat. The Crown was a massive improvement. She was way more kind and loving and considerate; Eadlyn actually admitted that she was a ‘whippersnapper’ (I looked up synonyms of brat, and I found whippersnapper so I’m using it). Overall, I thought that The Crown was an OK conclusion to The Selection series. 

So, what do I rate The Crown?

★★★★/5 Stars

Have you read The Crown yet? Are you planning on reading it? 

-Liv

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Crown by Kiera Cass

  1. Pingback: May Wrap-Up
  2. Wow, I didn’t realize how short this one actually is, that does scare me a bit. I’m pretty sad this is the end, but to be honest, I kind of wish it stopped at The One, haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

