Book Review: Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott

22571272

Goodreads Link

What would you do to save someone you love?

Time is slipping away. . . .

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can’t determine what’s wrong, her parents decide to move to the middle of nowhere for the fresh air. She’s lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying–and she’s helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It’s an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother’s illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there’s no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can’t trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?

I was actually quite mad at myself while reading Fire & Flood. The reason is because most of my book friends LOVE this book and I’m just now reading it. I received this book for my birthday, and I was extremely glad that I read it pretty much as soon as I got it. Fire & Flood was EXTREMELY good. Everything about it was so brilliant and well-developed that I had little issues with it.

The main character, Tella, started out as a really annoying P.O.V. I really didn’t like her too much. However, Victoria Scott did a phenomenal job on developing Tella and all the characters. Also, the world was just overall such a cool word build. They have these things called Pandoras; they almost remind me of Pokemons because they are a combination of several elements into one animal.

Honestly there wasn’t anything that I really hated about this book. There was a little bit of swearing in Fire & Flood but that’s understandable. When you’re fighting for the life of a loved one, you may drop a couple ‘F’ bombs here and there. Many people have compared this book to The Hunger Games. I can definitely see where that comes from, but they aren’t carbon copies of each other. I actually may have enjoyed Fire & Flood a tad more than The Hunger Games

So, what do I rate Fire & Flood?

★★★★★/5 Stars

Have you read Fire & Flood? Are you planning on reading it?

-Liv

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott

  1. Pingback: May Wrap-Up
  2. I’m glad you liked this book! I read it and wasn’t overly impressed but thought it was a good, average book with some plot holes. However I did read the second one and am waiting to see if a third is published.

    Like

Leave a Reply

