My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows {ARC Book Review}

(I received this ARC from my friend Avery through the North Texas Teen Book Festival).

22840421.jpg

Goodreads Link

Lady Jane Grey, sixteen, is about to be married to a total stranger—and caught up in an insidious plot to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But that’s the least of Jane’s problems. She’s about to become Queen of England. Like that could go wrong.

Let me start out by saying, this book was so incredibly good. I honestly went into this book with pretty low expectations because it’s historical fiction. It didn’t seem like something I’d enjoy, but I read it anyway because why not. After finishing this book I can honestly say I enjoyed My Lady Jane SO MUCH. After reading this I have to note that it is historical FICTION (emphasis on the fiction). While the characters is based on true characters, several parts of the plot are fictional.

This book was actually hilarious which I wasn’t expecting. The back of the book talks about how it is hilarious but I really wasn’t expecting that. The characters really carry the story and make a normally ‘dark’ story light hearted. The cast of characters is quite small which really helps when it comes to remembering their names. I am awful when it comes to remembering character names, but I could easily remember most of the characters in MLJ.  There was virtually nothing I didn’t like about My Lady Jane. Some points in the story were slow but for the most part it was fast paced.

So, what do I rate My Lady Jane?

★★★★★/5 Stars

Have you read My Lady Jane yet? What did you think of it? If not, are you planning on reading it?

-Liv

 

5 thoughts on “My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows {ARC Book Review}

  1. Pingback: May Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

