Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Reasons I Love Contemporary Reads

Hi everyone! Almost all book-nerds love Fantasy or Sci-Fi. Contemporary isn’t my absolute favorite but I do love contemporary books. This week’s theme is Ten Reasons I Love X (fill in the blank). Except I couldn’t think of Ten Reasons so Here’s Five Reasons Why I Love Contemporaries! Let’s get started!

1. They’re usually short

This sounds kind of weird but I love ‘short cuts’ in books. Random page blanks and short chapters are my favorite. I love short books because not only do they help with Goodreads Reading Challenges, they make good size books for traveling and trips.

2. The characters

The characters in contemporaries are usually really adorable and swoon-worthy. Especially the guys in the books. Especially Sarah Dessen’s guys.

3. They bring up topics that are usually ‘taboo’

I’ve read so many contemporary books that talk about suicide or mental illness that can’t be brought to light in Fantasy books.

4. The covers are usually beautiful.

Most contemporary book covers are so beautiful. I say most because there are some that are quite cheesy looking. Other than that they are beautiful.

5. They’re generally romantic

In relating to the reason above, the characters are generally swoon-worthy. If you are unbearable single (me), then they’re great because you can live vicariously through other characters’ love life.

Are you new to contemporary? Would you like a few recommendations?

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Wonder by R.J. Palacio

Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen

Just One Day by Gayle Foreman

Gracie’s Song by Michelle Schlicher

What are your favorite contemporary books? What are some of the reasons why you love contemporary books?

-Liv

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Reasons I Love Contemporary Reads

  1. When I first started blogging I absolutely loved contemporaries and that was the only thing I read…now I changed and it is all about that fantasy. Though, I have changed I do love contemporaries from time to time. The reasons you said above are reasons I go back. It kind of takes me back to reality and they’re short and sweet. Something to break up all the fantasies.

    Like

  2. Oh as cliche as it is I love contemporaries in the summer. There’s just something about being able to bring a book down to the lake and actually finish it that day. Usually if I can’t find a new one I’m into I’ll just re-read some Sarah Dessen lol. Great List!

    Like

  3. I don’t read a lot of contemporary, but I do agree that the cover’s are usually great! I have Anna and the French Kiss on my “soon” list. Seems to be very well received, can’t wait to start reading it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

