Spring Cleaning Book Tag

I was tagged by Jess at Princessica of Books on her other blog. It isn’t exactly spring anymore, but I thought this book tag would be fun 🙂

1. The struggle of getting started: a book/book series that you have struggled to begin because of its size.

Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo! I want to read these books so bad, but I’m a bit intimidated by the number of books (and mo18053060re coming).

2. Cleaning out the closet: a book and/or book series you want to unhaul.

I actually did unhaul this series but Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige. I thought the writing was really awful, and the characters (to me) weren’t very memorable.

3. Opening windows and letting fresh air in: a book that was refreshing.

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows. It’s one of my favorite reads of 2016. It was somewhat historical while bringing in an element that is not historically accurate.

4. A book you wish you could rewrite a certain scene in.

I’d rewrite the ending to Salt & Stone by Victoria Scott. The ending was left a bit open so there could be a possibility of a third book. As of right now, there are no plans for a third book so I’d want a clear ending.

5. Throwing out unnecessary knick-knacks: a book in a series that you didn’t feel was necessary.

Insurgent and Allegiant by Veronica Roth. I felt that Divergent would have been a good stand-alone. The trilogy just went down after Divergent.

6. Polishing the doorknobs: a book that had a clean finish.

Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling. I feel like Harry Potter is the answer to all things good with book answer. The ending was fulfilling even though we all wanted more.

7. Reaching to dust the fan: a book that tried too hard to relay a certain message.

I don’t know an answer for this one. Most books do a good job of balancing plot and the overall message.

8. The tiring yet satisfying finish of spring cleaning: a book s51lleajagql-_sy344_bo1204203200_eries that was tiring yet satisfying to get through.

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. Some parts of the books were slow, but overall it was such a great series. It was one of the first series I thoroughly enjoyed. I know there are issues with Cassandra Clare but her series has a special place in my heart.

9. Looking forward to next spring: tag people you want to do this tag.

Avery @ averyreadsalot

Paige @ thepaigeturner

Sophia @ vivalabooklife

Sara @ agingerlyreview

Wren @ thelitaku

-Liv

 

 

6 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning Book Tag

  1. I’ve never seen this tag before, but I really like it. Might have to do it too. I 100% agree with Divergent—both Insurgent and Allegiant were massive let downs for me.

    Like

  2. great post!
    i admit The Mortal Instruments is hard to get into sometimes. it’s slow and way too long! and don’t worry! the Grisha Trilogy is just so so so good! (even though i still have to read Ruin & Rising and Six of Crows.)

    Like

  3. thanks for the tag, liv! this looks like a lot of fun! i agree with pretty much all of your answers, especially that harry potter is the answer to everything! i didn’t like the divergent trilogy very much, and thought it went downhill. my lady jane was AMAZING. definitely one of my top 5 of 2016! last but not least, you gotta read a leigh bardugo book! they’re amazinggg and she’s one of my favorite authors! 😀

    Like

  4. Oh my gosh you are SPOT on for Dorothy Must Die :/ I read the first and second book so I might as well finish the series, but honestly, I find them misleading, boring and kinda gross *shudders*. I find the Grisha/Six of Crows books hard to get into also 😦 like I love the idea but it doesnt suck me in, you know?
    But yay for spring cleaning XD!!

    Like

  5. Agreed! I loved MLJ, definitely something fresh in YA. Aw too bad you didn’t like Dorothy Must Die, though it wasn’t my favorite for some reason I really want to read the next one! Great post Liv!

    Like

Leave a Reply

