My One True Love {Guest Post by LizzieLovesBooks}

Hi everyone! During the month of July, I will be on vacation. Because of this I decided to invite a few book bloggers onto my blog to write some guest posts. Today, I actually have a booktuber filling in for me! Today, I’d like you all to welcome Lizzie from LizzieLovesBooks. Take it away, Lizzie!

Hey there! My name’s Lizzie, and I’m filling in for Liv today! Liv and I met for the first time at a Marissa Meyer signing back in February, and have been bookish friends ever since! I guess I’ll tell you a couple of things about myself before I get started on today’s topic. I’m 18 years old, just graduated high school, and I make videos over on my BookTube channel, LizzieLovesBooks! I also post everyday on my bookstagram account, @lizzielovesbooks.

I started reading YA about three years ago. The Hunger Games was the first real YA novel that I read back in 2013, but shockingly enough, it was not the series that jumpstarted my adoration for reading, although it did begin my love for YA.

One day I was home sick and laying in bed, wondering what to do. I looked over at my nightstand table and saw The Lightning Thief staring back at me. I had purchased it from a book sale a couple of days before, and now thought, “Why not? I have nothing else to do, and I’ve been wanting to read this.”

From sentence one, page one, I was hooked.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians was the first series that I ever read that I felt took me seriously. The characters resonated with me on a level I’d never experienced before. The story was so beautiful and the writing was witty and hilarious. I was on a reading high, I didn’t understand why I hadn’t picked up this book before.

And so, I kept reading the series, book after book, until I’d reached the end. The ending was beautiful, and heartbreaking, and everything I’d ever hoped for. I was upset that it was over, and I was scared that when I picked up The Lost Hero, (bk #1 in The Heroes of Olympus series, which is a PJO spin-off), I wouldn’t love it as much; that it wouldn’t be the same. And I was right, it wasn’t the same. I still, to this day, love the Percy Jackson series more than I could ever love Heroes of Olympus, but this new series also introduced me to characters I would grow to adore. Leo, Hazel, Piper, Frank, Jason, these are just a few of the new characters in this series that wove their way into my heart.

I have this song I listen to when I read Percy Jackson novels; You Found Me by The Fray (I prefer Matt Giraud’s American Idol cover)- every time I listen to this song I’m reminded of all the feelings I felt while reading these series’, both good and bad. Another one I love is Nothing Left to Say by Imagine Dragons. There’s a video on YouTube with artwork by Vira that plays along with this song, and it’s so beautiful- I highly recommend watching this video if you’re a fan of both series- I promise it will make you feel all the things!

Percy Jackson was everything I didn’t know I needed in my life. This series introduced me to BookTube, and to the community of booklovers I now live and thrive in. I’m so thankful to Rick Riordan for writing these books that have impacted my life in so many ways. (also, a big thanks to all the people who pushed me to read it, without whom, I probably would never have known of it’s existence and my life may have gone down an entirely different road- so, thank you.)

Thank you guys all reading this, and thanks so much to Liv (the curly haired llama) for allowing me to take over her blog today! This is my first blog post I’ve ever written, so I hope I lived up to your expectations, Liv.

All of my social medias are linked on my YouTube channel (link above) if you’d like to check them out!

One thought on “My One True Love {Guest Post by LizzieLovesBooks}

  1. This was a great guest post 🙂
    I’m a little ashamed to say that I have yet to read The Percy Jackson series all the way through. Though it’s so great that it changed your life in such a drastic way Lizzie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

