Read-a-thon Reading Guide {Guest Post by libraryoftomes}

Hi everyone! During the month of July, I will be on vacation. Because of this I decided to invite a few book bloggers onto my blog to write some guest posts. They have done amazing jobs on the posts. Today, I’d like you all to welcome Temecka from libraryoftomes. Take it away, Temecka!

Reading guides are a meme I created on my blog as a way of recommending books to others based on a topic or genre. I find it to be a great way to recommend books that I might not recommend if I were recommending on a larger scale!

In the spirit of the “read-a- thon” season, I want to recommend some books that I personally think are amazing to read for read-a- thons. I define a good read for a read-a-thon as anything that is fun and fast paced. I think the summer is the best time to host read-a- thons because a lot of us that are still in school have a lot more time to read.

  • Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

*Trigger warning for eating disorders*

This is an author that I discovered years ago, but recently picked up again because I loved the first book I read by her. Wintergirls is a book that sucks you into the story and doesn’t let you go. The main character is so real, and the emotions this book provokes are so raw. This book is barely over 200 pages and is such a quick, but meaningful read.

  • Crank by Ellen Hopkins

*Trigger warning for drug abuse*

I love Ellen Hopkins. Her books are so addicting and deep. I love getting sucked into her books because the stories are always so emotional. I always finish these books with another perspective. I am currently recommending Crank specifically, but I think any of her books would be great choices!

  • Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

This is another really short, but great book. This is my favorite of all of Rainbow Rowell’s books. I found the romance between the two main characters to be so cute, and the use of dual narration to be done phenomenally. This book is something that feels so different than any other YA book.

  • The Selection by Kiera Cass (only the first three)

I have to say, The Selection may not be my favorite series, but they are quite addicting. I only recommend the first three because I have only read and only plan to read the first three. The books are written in such a fast paced way, and the story is so addicting it’s hard to put them down. They are such easy, thoughtless reads that are perfect for when you just want to relax and boost your book count.

About the author:

Hiya all. My name is Temecka (pronounced with a long e). I blog at libraryoftomes.blogspot.com. I am a college journalist, with a passion for books and puppies. I’ve been reading since I was about 12 years old, and I find the fictional world to be mor372cc9d9-0b49-4ac7-b268-244d6d65cc19e interesting than the real one. If you want to connect with me, then you can talk with me online.

Twitter: @libraryoftomes

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/32996279-temecka

Instagram: @libraryoftomes

Leave a Reply

