YouTuber Books//Discussion Post

YouTuber books. There is almost nothing more problematic than that. Whether you are a YouTube fan, a booktuber, a book blogger, or all of those at once, you have probably heard of it and have an opinion about it. I didn’t realize I had a really strong opinion until recently when I was discussing it with one of my friends. I realized that I was teeming with opinions so I thought, “why not make a blog post about it to give my opinion and see what everyone else’s opinions are?” because I’m curious. 

As of August 2016, I own quite a few YouTuber books:

I own…

  • The Amazing Book is not on Fire by Dan Howell and Phil Lester
  • All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher
  • On The Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher
  • Binge by Tyler Oakley
  • A Work In Progress by Connor Franta

My25074727 overall opinion is this: YouTuber Books Are Good. There is an art to storytelling. For example: Percy Jackson movies. The translation from books to film was awful. However, the books are one of the most cherished series of all time. What is the difference between the two? One was a good form of story telling and one was bad. In many of the YouTuber books I have read, the YouTuber has a story to tell. 

In Tyler Oakley’s book, Binge, he talks more in-depth about his childhood and how he turned into who he is today. (Connor’s book pretty much has the same reason). In Carrie’s first book, All I know Now, she gives advice to her (primarily younger audience) about growing up. In Dan and Phil’s book, The Amazing Book is Not On Fire, they have a tangible object to explain who they are and what the fanbase that surrounds them is. Most of the books I listed have a common denominator between them: they all have a purpose as to why they were written. I can only speak for the ones I have read, but even if the pu81n2bcukvwflblishers approached the YouTubers they still have some purpose for them. 

Lastly, one of my favorite reasons for YouTubers to write books is how much they are spread. Most of the YouTuber books that are released become instant New York Times Best Sellers. Not only are YouTuber books read by book/youtube lovers, they are read by people who wouldn’t be caught dead in a Barnes and Noble. It gives people a reason to read. Even a few of my friends who hate reading have read several YouTuber books. 

In a brief summary: Why Are YouTuber Books Good?

  1. It gives YouTubers a different platform to share stories. 
  2. It helps publisher make more money. 
  3. It makes people who normally wouldn’t read, read. 

Of course there are a few negatives to YouTubers writing books. Some people believe that 617gpzyvenl-_sx326_bo1252c204252c203252c200_YouTuber books are only created so the YouTuber(s) could make more money from their audience. If that is your opinion, I have one solution: don’t buy the books. If you are angered that your favorite creator has spent their time and energy working on a book then don’t buy the book and move on. No one is forcing you to read anything. Unless it is Harry Potter. Then we are all forcing you to read Harry Potter

Do you watch any YouTubers? Have any of your favorites released books? What is your opinion on YouTuber Books? 

5 thoughts on “YouTuber Books//Discussion Post

  1. I don’t think I would ever read anything a Youtuber wrote unless it was an actual Guru. I mean someone who was talented at their field instead of talented at acting in front of their camera. That being said, I love how it’s made people read. Especially Zoella her books and now her book club. It’s awesome.

    Like

  2. Hey Liv, I agree with everything you’ve said here. Your post was heartfelt and positive. However I’d like to simply add something and ask for your opinion on it. Yes, the majority are good. YouTubers started releasing books and they have left bestseller lists jaw-slacked for many reasons; but personally speaking, I can’t shake the thought that while there are good ones, there are also quite the number of YouTubers seemingly just releasing books because it’s become somewhat of a “thing” amongst larger YouTubers. I feel like some YouTubers use the “book thing” to take advantage of their fanbases; or more specifically, their wallets. You touched down on this briefly in the post but I’d like to see more attention to it.

    Like

    1. Hey, Anya! The reason why I didn’t talk about how it’s become a “thing” among many youtubers is because it isn’t their fault. Many times it is the publishing company approaching the youtubers with a book deal. Publishers love youtuber books because they are pretty much always an instant best-seller. I can’t blame the youtuber(s) for taking up a book deal; if I were in their position I would. Like I said in the bottom of the post: if you believe a YouTuber’s intention are cynical when writing a book, then don’t give them money and buy it.

      Like

  3. I agree completely! They often offer life lessons that can be really inspiring, and generally are a great thing to read if you’re quite invested in said person. The books can offer more knowledge and a better understanding of your favourite creator, and can be super funny and enjoyable. And of course, encouraging people that don’t normally read to read is never a bad thing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

