I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls #1) by Ally Carter {Book Review}

852470

Goodreads Link

Cammie Morgan is a student at the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women, a fairly typical all-girls school-that is, if every school taught advanced martial arts in PE and the latest in chemical warfare in science, and students received extra credit for breaking CIA codes in computer class. The Gallagher Academy might claim to be a school for geniuses but it’s really a school for spies. Even though Cammie is fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man in seven different ways, she has no idea what to do when she meets an ordinary boy who thinks she’s an ordinary girl. Sure, she can tap his phone, hack into his computer, or track him through town with the skill of a real “pavement artist”-but can she maneuver a relationship with someone who can never know the truth about her?

I actually went into I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have To Kill You with very low expectations. The cover seemed cheesy, and I read All Fall Down by Ally Carter and I didn’t really like it. With that being said, I loved the first Gallagher Girls novel.

Cammie, the main character, attends an all girl school for spies. If you didn’t know, boarding school is one of my favorite YA tropes. I love learning about characters without having that ‘well, where are their parents?’ feeling. All the characters in the book had really interesting backgrounds which made me love everyone even more. The school itself is really interesting. There are several passageways and hidden corridors that make the school really complex and interesting. The school, students, and teachers kind of remind me of Hogwarts.

While doing an undercover mission, Cammie meets a boy named Josh. Josh and Cammie’s relationship felt a bit ‘insta-lovey’, but the book was under 300 which made events feel a bit rushed. Although the events in I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have to Kill You felt a bit rushed, I really enjoyed the book and have already started the next book.

So, what do I rate I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have To Kill You?

★★★★/5 Stars

Have you read I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have To Kill You? Who are your favorite characters?

4 thoughts on “I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls #1) by Ally Carter {Book Review}

  1. I love this series! I’ve always had a thing for spies, and I think that Cammie and her roommates friendship is so cute. If you continue reading the series her relationship with Zach becomes one of my all time favorites.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. omg I love this novel!!! this whole series! Mind you, I haven’t finished the series yet, but I really need to step back to it and finish it off. I need a refresher on the books I did read though xD haha. Great review!!

    Like

  3. I remember seeing this book at school, I really wanted to read it but I never did. Even though I love spy stories (and boarding school ones too!) I’m glad you enjoyed this book 🙂 I read All Fall Down and (from what I remember) I didn’t like it either :/ but maybe I’ll give this book a try 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Glad to hear that you enjoyed reading this book. I felt the same way about the cover. I guess that is why I am yet to read it, its way too cheesy but I guess I will check out the book someday. Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

