A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness {Book Review}

a_monster_callsGoodreads Link

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

 

There is one factor about the book that I want to talk about before I get into the actual story. This book is not only written by Patrick Ness, but the concept of the book was originated by Siobhan Dowd. However, she died of cancer in 2007. Patrick was asked to complete the concept Siobhan had created and he did. This factor, I think, made me enjoy the book quite a lot more. It was interesting to me how this person’s original idea was taken on by another person because she was unable to.

I have honestly had A Monster Calls on my shelf for about half a year. I had no intention of reading it soon. However, my friends and I wanted to read a book as a group. I selected A Monster Calls because it’s been on my shelf for so long. (After the book is done traveling, I will do a more in-depth blog post about where the book traveled to). I actually went into this book with very high expectations. People have raved about Patrick Ness’s books which caused my expectations to be through the roof. However, Patrick Ness did not disappoint with this book.

A Monster Calls is an incredibly short book. The edition I read was only 237 pages. I read it in a few days (which is really good for post-reading-slump me). However, there is so much depth and character development within those few number of pages. It will grab you by your heart and won’t let go until you set the book down. The writing style was nothing extraordinary; I feel like the simplistic nature of the writing style added to the story, though. Honestly, I think A Monster Calls will go in as one of my favorite books ever.

So, what do I rate A Monster Calls? 

★★★★★/5

Have you read A Monster Calls? Did you like it? Are there any other Patrick Ness books I need to check out? 

-Liv

4 thoughts on “A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness {Book Review}

  1. WASN’T IT SPECTACULAR!! I’ve never read a book that actually spurred and bounced through my thoughts. I did have some problems with the storyline because I found the end to be a teensy bit anti-climatic, but hey, what can ya do. It was still SUPER INSPIRING.
    Neat review!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: September Wrap-Up
  3. I’m glad that you enjoyed this book, Liv! I read this earlier in the year and it broke my heart. I can’t wait to see the movie – I’ve heard that it was wonderful and just as heartbreaking.
    To answer your question, I agree that this book had so much depth, and I really like how it explores the nuances of grief and how it permeates a person’s life.
    Have you read his Chaos Walking trilogy? It’s sooo good, and I highly recommend it if you haven’t read it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

