Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children {Movie Review}

missperegrineposterWhen his beloved grandfather leaves Jake clues to a mystery that spans different worlds and times, he finds a magical place known as Miss Peregrine’s School for Peculiar Children. But the mystery and danger deepen as he gets to know the residents and learns about their special powers – and their terrifying enemies. Ultimately, Jake discovers that only his own special peculiarity can save his new friends. Based on the novel “Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children,” written by Ransom Riggs.
I went into the 7:30 p.m. showing of Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children with very low expectations. I had seem some tweets saying that it was a waste of time (etc. etc.). However, I did end up liking it more than I did. If you don’t know, Miss Peregrine’s is one of my favorite books of all time. I have read the first and second book twice. I am very protective over this world and the characters. In the best way possible, I believe that this adaption is the best it could have been. No other director would have kept the idea of Miss Peregrine’s entirety. Tim Burton was completely qualified to take on the task of adapting the book. The acting in the movie was surprisingly well done. I figured that, because it is a primarily youth cast, the acting wouldn’t be the best. I was pleasantly surprised with good acting. The sets and costuming were also done very well. With all that being said, this movie was not flawless.
One of the big immediate changes is some of the peculiars’ powers. Emma and Olive’s powers were switched (Emma had the power to float; Olive had the power of fire). Throughout the movie, I was trying to find a reason for the switching. I really couldn’t find a solid reason. Also, I really felt that Burton was actively trying to get the movie to pass the two hour mark. The first hour and forty-five minutes were solid. Changes here and there but other than that it was a solid 8/10 for me. Sadly, (without spoiling anything) the last bit of time felt very pushed. The movie could have really done without the last forty minutes. With that being said, Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children was a solid adaption. Tim Burton added his own flair to certain parts of the movie. It reminded me of how The Maze Runner was done: plot changes but it still worked as a whole. So…was it like the book? No. Was it still good? Yes.
 
Have you read Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children? Do you want to see the movie?

-Liv

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children {Movie Review}

  1. I haven’t read this series before but it’s on my TBR and I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I’ve heard so many different thoughts on the movie and the trailer looks interesting – I can’t wait to give the books a read and the movie a watch! Great review 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

