The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon {Book Review}

28763485Goodreads Link

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

Before I start my review, can we appreciate how beautiful the cover is? When ARCs were first being released, I was so dumbfounded by how beautiful this book was in pictures. It is even more beautiful in person. Seriously, this book deserves all the heart eyes emojis. Inside and out.

Nicola Yoon’s writing style is one of my favorites. Her books are told with basic/simplistic writing while still being ‘artsy’ and poetic. Everything, Everything and The Sun is Also A Star are both fairly easy reads. The chapters are short which makes it easy to fly through.The Sun is Also A Star could be a very fast read. I say ‘could be’ because I was slowly getting over a reading slump while reading it. The book does a nice job of grasping you from the start and doesn’t let you go until the final page. The majority of the story takes place over a 12 hour time period. However, none of the plot or character development felt rushed or out of place.

This story is told in multiple POVs. It is primarily told by the two protagonists: Natasha and Daniel. Once in a while, the story will trail off and tell exposition on an event, character, or an item. One of the main reasons why I LOVED The Sun is Also A Star is because it is #ownvoices. If you don’t know what #ownvoices is or why it’s important, I recommend you check out this video by Whitney from WhittyNovels. Nicola Yoon always includes diverse characters in her novels which is one of the reasons why I love her books so much. Daniel is Korean; Natasha is Jamaican. During the course of the book, you learn about each of their families and their cultures. Overall, The Sun is Also A Star deals with topics such as discrimination, racism, and deportation with grace while ripping your hear into a million pieces.

So, what do I rate The Sun Is Also A Star

★★★★★/5

-Liv

4 thoughts on “The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon {Book Review}

  1. I didn’t think Everything, Everything was up my alley, but this one has intrigued me and I’m encouraged to give it a go! Especially because I don’t know very much about the cultures of the characters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

