Do You Listen to Music While You Read? {Discussion Post}

I have a weird talent: I can read with music (or any noise) in the background. Ever since I could read chapter books by myself, I was able to read no matter what was happening around me. I could be in the middle of a busy classroom and still be able to focus on the pages; I still can today. In fact, I didn’t even know that it was a talent that I was able to do this. I held a poll on Twitter asking you guys if you could read with music in the background. And I was honestly quite shocked at the results.

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-5-00-48-pm

Apparently, being able to read while listening to music isn’t as common as I thought it was! I also asked why they could or couldn’t listen to music. These are some of the responses I got:

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-6-53-27-pmscreen-shot-2017-02-14-at-6-53-46-pm

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-7-00-51-pm

Screen Shot 2017-02-14 at 7.04.43 PM.png

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-7-04-55-pm

The one thing I have a difficulty with is reading while listening to musicals. For some reason, I can’t enjoy a book while enjoying a musical at the same time. I suppose it may have something to do with trying to focus on two conflicting storylines. Despite this, are you like me? Are you able to read and listen to music? Are you able to read while listening to music but you don’t know what to listen to? Would you like some recommendations? Here are some of the few artists and playlists I listen to while I’m reading:

Do you read while listening to music? What are some of your favorite artists/bands/playlists to listen to? 

-Liv

 

 

11 thoughts on “Do You Listen to Music While You Read? {Discussion Post}

  1. I can definitely read in public places and during classes. When it comes to music, it depends on the genre, I guess. It’s easy (and pretty soothing) to read while listening to songs that are light, acoustic or mellow. I find rock songs to be too distracting, though.

    ‪As promised on Twitter, I’m hopping from blog to blog to leave these behind: 🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻‬

    ‪Shealea @ That Bookshelf Bitch

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m actually a bit weird, because when I’m at home, I can’t have any background noise … I don’t listen to music, the TV is off and people CAN’T talk to me. But when I’m out, I’m totally fine with it – last Summer my friends and I wanted to watch a football game on a giant screen in my city and we had to get there early to get a good place to sit, so I brought my book with me and spent some time reading haha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I always listen to music while I read, just like when J do anything else. What I listen to however depends on the story… I’ll try and find songs that match the mood it actually makes things a lot more real and allows me to focus! Also, with over 3000 songs on my phone alone not including my online playlists, cds and records, I have music for absolutely anything and everything 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Also, with songs that tell stories sometimes it can feel as if the artist is connecting with both me and the author and the character idk if that’s weird or anything but I’m really into music and I’m really into reading so when the two creative worlds collide like this it’s very exciting. When this happens I usually end up inspired to draw something lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

