Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Didn’t Think I Would Like As Much As I Did

Hey guys! This week’s theme for Top Ten Tuesday is Ten Books I Loved Less/More Than I Thought I Would. I thought this was a very interesting theme because I find it fairly common to have books exceed my expectations. Let’s get started!

1. The Female of The Species by Mindy McGinnis25812109

I expected to like The Female of The Species. I expected to close the book and say: “wow, what a great book. Alright, on to the next one!” I thought I would. I didn’t. This book has stayed with me even after reading it several months ago. It is definitely on my “you need to read it ASAP” list.

2. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

I had A Monster Calls on my shelf for over a year. I purchased it at Half Price for $5 on sale; I didn’t have any immediate plans to pick it up. A group of my friends thought: “hmm, maybe passing around a book and annotating it. I thought that maybe we could do A Monster Calls because I already owned it. I loved it so much. Honestly, it is now one of my favorite books of all time.

3. I’d Tell You I Loved You But Then I’d Have To Kill You by Ally Carter

Confession: I initially didn’t want to read this series. The covers seemed childish to me and I wondered if I was ‘too old’ to enjoy this book. (By the way: There is no such thing as being ‘too old’ for a book). The overall book was great, and it was perfect because it picked me up out of a reading slump.

4. Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott

I heard about Fire & Flood from my friend Lizzie (LizzieLovesBooks). I figured I’d enjoy it and forget about it. This definitely wasn’t the case. I enjoyed the writing style and the overall plot immensely.

5. Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys

During my middle school years, everyone in my class loved this book. All of my friends would recommend it to me. However, I didn’t like to follow ‘the crowd’. So, I didn’t read it. Eventually, I bought it and decided to read it. I LOVED it.

6. Wonder by R. J. Palacio

I read Wonder in 8th grade after I finished Percy Jackson. Again, I expected to feel ‘meh’ about it and move on. I ended up completely adoring it. I felt so impacted by the overall story; it is such an important story to tell as well!

7. Winger by Andrew Smith

I had heard about Winger for years. When I moved into high school, my new school library had a huge selection of Young Adult books. As soon as I saw Winger, I borrowed it immediately. I ended up devouring the book in two days. I couldn’t put it down.

285039418. Wonder Women: 25 Innovators, Inventors, and Trailblazers Who Changed History by Sam Maggs

I received this book for review from Quirk Books in the fall. I wasn’t sure how I would like it. I thought I would, again, feel ‘meh’ about it and move on. However, I enjoyed it a lot. I loved how funny it was while still being informational.

9. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

Funny story: I almost DNF-ed this book. !!NOTE: ALMOST!! I found the first 70 pages to be uneventful and boring. I set the book aside for a few months and picked it up again. The second time I read it? I loved it. The characters were suddenly interesting, and the overall plot was so much more enjoyable.

10. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Again, this book was recommended to me over and over again. I refused to read it. Eventually, I caved in. I loved it so much more than I thought I would. The writing style, the characters, the plot, the sci-fi elements–everything was just phenomenal. I’m so glad I picked it up finally and read the series.

What are some books that exceeded your expectations? What books fell short? 

 

-Liv

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Didn’t Think I Would Like As Much As I Did

  1. I really like Sam Maggs style of writing. She’s funny, but not so much so that I get annoyed by her. She did a fangirl book that’s kind of cool as well.

    I have a copy of A Monster Calls because I intended to read it ages ago, but ended up seeing the movie first. That was an amazing film, though I suppose it has pushed the book further down on my TBR because I know what an emotional roller coaster it will be. It’s such a sad story; I wish the woman who had the original idea had lived to see what her work came to.

    I’m not sure about Wonder. I think I tried it once and didn’t like it at all. Would you recommend giving it another shot?

    Like

  2. I am glad that you loved Cinder. I am seeing Between Shades of Grey a lot, should check it out and I read Passenger by Alexandra Bracken, I didn’t find that good so I dunno if I am gonna read her other books. I’ll the second book in Passenger to complete it though cause Passenger had a cliffhanger.
    Here’s My TTT

    Like

  3. I completely agree with you with Cinder! I only read it to see what was the hype all about, thinking it would probably be a 3 stars book for me… boy was I wrong! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

