Hear The Wolves by Victoria Scott {ARC Review}

I received this book from Scholastic in exchange for an honest review. 

58d7f682-d1f8-4ef9-a357-bd2b86bf03a8Sloan is a hunter.
So she shouldn’t be afraid of anything. But ever since her mom left the family and she lost hearing in one ear in a blizzard, it’s been hard to talk to people, and near-impossible to go anywhere or do anything without her dad or big sister within eyesight — it makes her too scared to be on her own.
When they leave her home alone for what should only be two nights, she’s already panicked. Then the snow starts falling and doesn’t stop. One of her neighbors is hurt in an accident. And the few people still left in Rusic need to make it to the river and the boat that’s tied there — their only way to get to a doctor from their isolated Alaska town.
But the woods are icy cold, and the wolves are hungry. Sloan and her group are running out of food, out of energy, and out of time. That’s when the wolves start hunting them . . .

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you may remember that I hosted a cover reveal for Hear The Wolves. I’m on the street team for Victoria Scott, so I was able to see the cover before it was officially released. I loved Scott’s duology, Fire & Flood. I knew that as soon as I could I would request her first middle grade novel.

With all that being said, Hear The Wolves fell a little flat for me. I really expected to absolutely adore this book; sadly, that wasn’t really the case. I’m not a big fan of survival stories. I also felt that the book felt a little too ‘not middle grade’. Let me explain: as the synopsis states, a pack of wolves begin to hunt them. Without spoiling too much, the descriptions of the wolves seem a bit too graphic for 8-12 year olds.  Honestly, I just felt very ‘meh’ throughout most of the book. The book was less than 300 pages which made it fly by rather quickly. The plot was interesting enough to continue but not enough for me to enjoy and recommend it.

Even though one of Victoria’s books disappointed me, I will continue to read her other novels. I still really enjoyed her other book, Fire & Flood. I have an e-ARC of her next book, Violet Grenade. I’m hoping I enjoy it better than I enjoyed Hear The Wolves. 

So, what do I rate Hear The Wolves

★★★/5

Have you read Hear The Wolves? Are you planning on it?

-Liv

2 thoughts on “Hear The Wolves by Victoria Scott {ARC Review}

Leave a Reply

