The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli {ARC Review}

I received this book from Harper Collins in exchange for an honest review. This in no way influences my opinion.


5139zwihtyl-_sx329_bo1204203200_Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love. No matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. If Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s a chubby Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him.

Right?

I genuinely believe that Becky Albertalli is the queen of YA contemporary. I’m serious. Fun Fact: I have never read a Becky Albertalli book. After reading The Upside of Unrequited, I know I need to quickly change that. I was waiting for the release date to read this book, until I checked my email and found an email from HaperCollins with a link to download from Edelweiss. You can imagine my excitement as I downloaded it.

Let’s discuss one of the many qualities of this book: diversity. This book intertwines diversity so flawlessly within the book. There was representation for both LGBTQ+  and PoC. It is very evident that Becky used sensitivity readers throughout this book (she also includes them in her acknowledgements).

The protagonist, Molly, is one of my favorite characters of all time. She’s a fat, Jewish, Pinterest-Queen, seventeen year old teenager. It’s quite common for fat girls to be comic relief in movies, books, TV shows, etc. Yes, Molly was hilarious, but not because of her weight. In fact, there is even a scene where she is told that she is told that she’s “gorgeous for a big girl”. Molly’s narrative definitely tells the truth that big girls can love and be loved too. It’s pretty sad that, in 2017, this is a truth that needs to still be taught.

The writing style is also something I would like to note. Becky’s writing style is one of the best I’ve seen in the YA community. It grabs you from the beginning and will not let go until you’re done. Even once you’re done, you want more. All the characters were perfectly imperfect. They were all far from perfect which made it absolutely perfect.

I really wish everyone could read Upside of Unrequited. Even if you are not normally a fan of contemporary, I’m certain you will still enjoy it.  The overall story felt like a warm hug. I really can’t form my thoughts into words; I’m so in love with The Upside of Unrequited. This book is a definite must-read.

So, what do I rate The Upside of Unrequited?

★★★★★/5 Stars

Have you read The Upside of Unrequited yet? If not, is it on your TBR?

-Liv