Love, and You by Gretchen Gomez {Book Review}

34335011one day i met a guy
who stole my heart,
we created a world
for ourselves.
and another day
he broke my heart
and shattered
my soul.

i took the tattered
pieces of this
broken soul and
became anew.

– here lies the hurting, the healing, and the learning

If you liked poetry books like Milk and Honey and The Princess Saves Herself in This OneTHIS BOOK IS FOR YOU. I used to really not enjoy poetry. I thought of it as a piece of work that I had to analyze during English class. I also thought of scenes in movies/shows when a group of people sit in a cafe and a hipster guy stands at a front and proclaims an exaggerated poem while everyone snaps. So needless to say, I used to snicker at the idea of poetry. And I know I’m not alone in feeling this way.

I have changed. I read Amanda Lovelace’s The Princess Saves Herself in This One and fell in love. Just between me and you, I think I enjoyed love, and you just as much. The poems are absolutely stunning. While reading it, I could really tell Gretchen poured her heart out in the book. It’s so honest, personal, emotional, and just raw. Even though I couldn’t relate to all the poems, I certainly connected with them and learned from them.

Everyone needs to read this. Whether you were broken in a relationship, you are in an unhealthy relationship, or you don’t want to touch relationships with a ten foot pole. You will not regret reading love, and you. Even if you are not generally a ‘poetry person’, try it out! It doesn’t hurt to try. I used to be in your shoes, and now I love poetry.

I’m so excited to see Gretchen’s work take off. This was just her debut, and I’m so excited to see what comes next. love, and you is for sure a new favorite of mine.

So, what do I rate love, and you?

★★★★★/5 Stars

Have you purchased love, and you yet? 

-Liv

3 thoughts on “Love, and You by Gretchen Gomez {Book Review}

  1. omggggg thank you so much Liv!!! love love love this! I am so happy that you are into poetry now, it’s so amazing. If you ever need more recs, let me know =)

    thank you for your support and being there. this means a lot to me!!! beautiful review xoxox

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

