Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books to Buy Your Mom This Mother’s Day

Hey everyone! I haven’t done a Top Ten Tuesday in quite some time. Since Mother’s Day was last weekend, I thought I’d participate in this one! My mom doesn’t read too much because she is so busy. She, however, is such a champ when it comes to taking me to book events and carrying my books! If your mom does like to read, these are a few books that I would recommend if she isn’t quite a YA reader yet:

1. My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows

I read My Lady Jane about a year ago; all I remember from it is how much I enjoyed it. It was hilarious and the characters were really enjoyable. It’s also historical fiction; so if your mom loves historical fiction, she would really enjoy My Lady Jane!

2. The Selection by Kierra Cass

For many people, The Selection is a classic for a new YA reader. Although it isn’t the best book series, it really is addicting which makes it great for a new reader.

3. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

If you’ve never read A Monster Calls, what are you doing? I read it last year, and I absolutely loved it. I’d definitely gift it to my mom.

4. The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

If you’ve been following my blog for a little bit, you might have seen that Upside of Unrequited was one of my favorite reads of 2017 already. I seriously wish I could recommend this book to everyone.

5. The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

The Sun is Also A Star is a really good book for people who aren’t as much into reading. The writing is super addicting, and the chapters are fairly short. It also deals with many issues that you wouldn’t normally see in a YA romance contemporary.

6. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Out of my entire reading career, I don’t think I’ve recommended a book more. I read it many many years ago, and it’s definitely one of my top favorites of all time.

7. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Again, Cinder was a book that I think would be perfect for someone who is new to YA books. I found it really addicting, and I think it’d be a really good to gift a mom.

8. Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys

If your mom is anything like my mom, then your mom enjoys historical fiction. My mom has actually read one of Ruta’s other books and enjoyed it immensely.

9. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Does this really need an explanation? Cute contemporary by an #ownvoices author? It’s definitely a book I’d gift to a mom.

10. Legend by Marie Lu

This recommendation is a bit different than the other ones. Legend is great if you enjoy dystopian and action centered books.

-Liv

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books to Buy Your Mom This Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

