Blog Tour: Interview with Victoria Scott (Author of Violet Grenade)

Hello everyone! Today, I am very excited to have one of my favorite authors on my blog! I’ve been a fan of hers for over a year now, and I’m on her street team (#VMafia). I knew I just had to jump at the chance to host her on her Violet Grenade blog tour run through Chapter By Chapter. Without anymore delay, I’d like to welcome Victoria Scott!

1. Hi Victoria! Before we start, can you tell us a bit about Violet Grenade?

Hi! Violet Grenade is a young adult psychological suspense about a teen runaway with a second personality. It touches on bullying, revenge, manipulation, and love.

2. You’ve mentioned that you usually get your book ideas with a BANG: how did you get your idea for Violet Grenade?

It came as a vision, actually. I kept imagining this small girl getting targeted by an assailant, and then being surprised when she turns out to be incredibly violent. I love the concept of not knowing who you’re messing with.

3. Was writing Violet Grenade different than writing your other books?

Yes, it was. This was my first psychological book, and definitely the darkest. It’s much, much darker than my previous books, and it was liberating to be given licence to push the envelope.

4. What character is your favorite to write about? Why?

The personality in Domino’s head, Wilson, is my favourite, though it was difficult to balance him. I wanted him to be funny, but dangerous, and that was tough to nail down.

5. What is your writing process like?

I’m a very fluid writer. I don’t jump around, and I follow a general outline. I try to write 1,000 – 2,000 words a day, five days a week.

6. How long does it usually take for you to finish a first draft?

Depends when my deadline is. Ha! I’d love to have a full year to write a first draft, but it usually ends up being where I have three months to write the entire thing. That’s the situation I’m in now drafting my next story.

7. What made you decide to write your books for young adults?

I think I sort of fell into it. I was in my twenties when I first started writing books, so I read a lot of upper YA. Now that I’m 100% adult, I sometimes tinker with adult books, but I’m not sure if I’ll ever fully make that leap. We’ll see.

8. Finally, can you talk about your next upcoming project?

I can’t tell you too much, yet. I’m writing the first draft of a new young adult book now, and I’m hoping to be able to announce something very soon. I’ll give you one hint: Nirvana.

Thanks again to Victoria for the interview! It was wonderful to have you on my blog!

Check Out Violet Grenade!

DOMINO: A girl with blue hair and a demon in her mind.

CAIN: A stone giant on the brink of exploding.Violet Grenade

MADAM KARINA: A woman who demands obedience.

WILSON: The one who will destroy them all.

When Madam Karina discovers Domino in an alleyway, she offers her a position inside her home for entertainers in secluded West Texas. Left with few alternatives and an agenda of her own, Domino accepts. It isn’t long before she is fighting her way up the ranks to gain the madam’s approval. But after suffering weeks of bullying and unearthing the madam’s secrets, Domino decides to leave. It’ll be harder than she thinks, though, because the madam doesn’t like to lose inventory. But then, Madam Karina doesn’t know about the person living inside Domino’s mind. Madam Karina doesn’t know about Wilson.

Link to Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28226839-violet-grenade

Purchase Links:

Google Play | BAM|Chapters | Indies | Amazon| B&N| Kobo | TBD | iBooks

Giveaway!

Win a signed paperback of The Collector, a signed paperback of Titans, and a signed galley of Hear The Wolves!

A Rafflecopter giveaway

About The Author

VictoriaScott_Author Photo.jpg

Victoria Scott is the acclaimed author of eight books for young adults. Her novels are sold in fourteen different countries, and she loves receiving fan mail from across the world. Victoria loves high fashion, big cities, and pink cotton candy. You can find her online at VictoriaScott.com.

Website| Twitter | Facebook | InstagramGoodreads

 

 

Find the rest of the tour schedule here!

Did you enjoy the interview? Have you added Violet Grenade to your TBR yet?

-Liv

 

Leave a Reply

