Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee {ARC Review}

I was sent an e-ARC of Tash Hearts Tolstoy in exchange for an honest review. This in no way influences my opinion. 

29414576.jpg

After a shout-out from one of the Internet’s superstar vloggers, Natasha “Tash” 

Zelenka finds herself and her obscure, amateur web series, Unhappy Families, thrust into the limelight: She’s gone viral.

Her show is a modern adaptation of Anna Karenina—written by Tash’s literary love Count Lev Nikolayevich “Leo” Tolstoy. Tash is a fan of the forty thousand new subscribers, their gushing tweets, and flashy Tumblr GIFs. Not so much the pressure to deliver the best web series ever.

And when Unhappy Families is nominated for a Golden Tuba award, Tash’s cyber-flirtation with Thom Causer, a fellow award nominee, suddenly has the potential to become something IRL—if she can figure out how to tell said crush that she’s romantic asexual.

Tash wants to enjoy her newfound fame, but will she lose her friends in her rise to the top? What would Tolstoy do?

How can I describe my absolute admiration for this book? Tash Hearts Tolstoy exceeded all expectations I had. I’m actually having a difficult time writing this review because I just don’t know how I’ll describe it. I apologize in advance if this review is a bit jumbled.

I have fallen madly in love with Tash Hearts Tolstoy. It is a fluffy, YA contemporary that needs to be added to your TBRs IMMEDIATELY.

One thing unique about this novel is Natasha–Tash–is asexual. I have personally never read a book that features a asexual protagonist. I wrote a thread about Tash Hearts Tolstoy and what it means to me if you’d like to read it.   

I really can’t express how much I enjoyed this book. Tash Hearts Tolstoy talks about many issues, not only Tash’s sexuality. It also discusses friendships, rising to fame, family, and relationships. While Tash’s asexuality is very present in this novel, it is not the focal point. The book also explains that you can be in relationships and have romantic feelings if you are ace which is a myth that gets tossed around quite frequently.

Tash Hearts Tolstoy is just so much fun. The book is set while Tash and her friends are working on a web series. All of the characters were unique and easy to remember which is a problem I have frequently.

Tash is definitely not a perfect character which is something I really liked. In books, the characters are often seen as perfect beings. That isn’t how real humans work, though. They make mistakes and sometimes let emotions get the best of them. Tash definitely felt real. She didn’t always do or say the right things, but Tash learned from her mistakes and had strong character development by the end.

The storyline was adorable. Honestly, it reminded me of a Wattpad story in all the best ways. It was addicting and somewhat realistic but a bit idealistic. The writing style was also simple but still having the addicting style like I said before. There were many parts that were so funny I literally laughed out loud. It was overall just a heart-warming, wonderful novel.

After reading this review, you can probably tell that I LOVED Tash Hearts Tolstoy. You need to buy it as soon as you can. Read it. Love it.

So, what do I rate Tash Hearts Tolstoy?

★★★★★/5 Stars

Have you read Tash Hearts Tolstoy? Is it on your TBR yet? 

-Liv