The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

Hello everyone! I’ve seen this tag circling the book community, and I thought I’d join in the fun! I don’t believe I’ve been tagged, but I’ll just do it anyway! My reading count for this year has been sadly low, but I’m still going to do this tag! Let’s get into the questions:

320756711. The Best Book You’ve Read So Far in 2017

To be honest, I’ve read some amazing books in 2017. It was super hard to narrow it down to only one; I really wish I could just have a list for all of then. If I had to pick one book, it’d have to be The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. I wrote a book review about T.H.U.G. if you’d like to see my full thoughts on it! Just know this: it was an absolutely beautiful book and if you haven’t read it yet, you need to.

2. Your Favorite Sequel of 2017

I’ve only read one sequel in 2017…Oops. I guess my answer for this has to be The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig! I mainly only read stand-a-lones for this part of the year.

3. A New Release You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde! I feel like I may be the last person on the planet who hasn’t read this book yet! I have only heard wonderful things about it, so I’m really excited to read it soon!

4. Most Anticipated Read For The Second Half of The Year

For this question, I decided on 27 Hours by Tristina Wright. I have heard nothing but wonderful things from the ARC readers so far. 27 Hours is being released October 3 through Entangled Teen!

 

5. Your Biggest Disappointment

To no one’s surprise, my biggest disappointment was a book I needed to read for school: Lord of The Flies by William Golding. This book was one of the worst books I’ve ever read.

6. Biggest Surprise of The Year29414576

One book that came as a surprise for me was Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee. I was highly anticipating this book, but I was very fearful that I would be disappointed (I’m not sure why). It was a wonderful, hilarious, and touching read featuring an Ace protagonist. Tash Hearts Tolstoy was one of my top reads of this year.

7. Fave New To You Or Debut Author

One author I finally read in 2017 is Becky Albetalli! I seriously can’t believe I just read her this year because she is now one of my favorite authors of all time.

8. Your New Fictional Crush

Speaking of Albertalli’s books, Reid from The Upside of Unrequited is one of my new fictional crushes. He’s so soft and sweet. He’s a pure human.

9. New Favorite Character29283884

New favorite character has to go to Monty from The Gentlemen’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzie Lee! He gives off very ‘Will Herondale’ vibes who was my 7th grade fictional crush. He’s just all around an awful, flawed, but hilarious character.

10. A Book That Made You Cry

They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera. I’m guessing most people probably figured out just why it made me cry by the title. 

11. A Book That Made You Happy

For this question, I think I’m going to go with When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon! This book was so adorable, and I think I was smiling the entire time I read it.

12. Fave Book To Movie Adaption You’ve Seen This Year

I don’t have an answer for this because I don’t watch a lot of movies. I don’t think I’ve seen a single one this year.

13. Fave Book Post Published This Year

My favorite post this year is the post I did about the 13 Reasons Why TV show and how it can be harmful. I got quite a lot of feedback from it, and I’m quite proud of it!

14. Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought/Received9780525425892

The book I chose for this answer is We Are Okay by Nina LaCour! Not only is the cover/format of the book stunning, but the content inside is very poignant novel. It’s really hard to put my feelings into words. Just know that it is absolutely wonderful but very sad.

15. What Are Some Books You Need To Read Before The End Of The Year?

I’m going to do a bullet list of the ones I need to read because there are A LOT.

  • A Darker Shade of Magic by Victoria Schwab
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  • Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde
  • Not Your Sidekick by C.B. Lee

I Tag…

Have you done the Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag? If so, leave your link in the comments! I’d love to read them. 

-Liv

 

15 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

  1. Books anyone has to read for school usually end up being huge disappointments, I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that we are told that we have to read them, and we didn’t decide to read them on our own.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely answers! I haven’t read THUG yet but it seems like I should very soon – I haven’t got the chance to buy it yet but I’m eager to. It sounds fabulous and so important. Glad you loved it so much 🙂
    I hope you’ll read Queens of Geek soon, it was such a great book! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read Queens of Geek yet either but I REALLY want to! THUG was one of my favorite reads so far this year and I’ve fallen in love with Becky Albertalli and her books as well (though I need Simon)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

