Blog Tour: Q&A with Jesse The Reader and Victoria Schwab

Hello,everyone! I’m ecstatic about the two guests I have today on my blog. In honor of the release of Because You Love to Hate Me, Victoria Schwab and Jesse George from Jesse The Reader are going to be answering a few Q&A questions!

 Jesse George’s Q&A

  1. Was Because You Love to Hate Me your first experience writing? How different was it to working on your BookTube channel?

    It wasn’t necessarily my first dip into the writing pool, but it was my first experience working with an editor. I tend to exercise a lot of writing for my videos whether that be during the brainstorming process or during the script writing process. Not all my videos are scripted, but my sketch videos tend to be. The primary difference in writing a piece for BYLTHM and working on my BookTube channel lies in the tone. My BookTube channel is more on the happy go lucky side of things, where as my BYLTHM piece dives into a bit of a darker topic. I’m excited for people to read the piece, though, because I feel like it’s different than what they’re used to seeing with me.

  2. Out of all fictional villains (books, movies, TV shows, etc), who would you be and why?

Without a doubt it would be Count Olaf from A Series of Unfortunate Events. He’s a villain that I love to hate. I find him ridiculous, outrageous, and completely over the top, which if you’ve seen my videos, you’ll know that a majority of them contain all of those things. My videos just lack the evil that Count Olaf brings to the table and I plan to keep it that way! 

  1. After Because You Love to Hate Me, do you think you’ll continue writing? Any specific projects you want to work on if so?

I’m currently working on two different writing projects! I won’t go into detail, because I’m terrified of jinxing myself, but I definitely hope to put out a book in the future. I’m in no rush, because I want to make sure I put out a piece of work that I’m proud of. I’m well aware that it’s going to take time to get to that point, but I’m looking forward to what the future holds. 

Victoria Schwab’s Q&A

  1. Was working on Because You Love to Hate Me  similar or different to writing your novels?

Writing short stories is a totally different art from writing novels, but I’m apparently even slower at it. It took me nearly 4 MONTHS to write “Death Knell” from first idea to finished draft. I had such a specific style for it in my head (I wanted it to feel like a folk song), and it became a matter of getting the execution just so.

  1. Out of all fictional villains (books, movies, TV shows, etc), who would you be and why?

I like to think Magneto from X-Men. My favorite villain is one who has a compelling backstory and a belief in what they’re doing. Anarchy is fun (see: Harley Quinn) but in the end, righteousness is more compelling. Plus, the ability to bend metal is pretty badass. So maybe this is more about who I’d WANT to be than who I would be.

  1. What advice would you give to someone who wanted to be an author/start writing?

Honestly, get to “the end” of whatever you’re trying to do. You can’t fix a blank page, and making something better is easier than making something from scratch.

Purchase Because You Love To Hate Me

31450752Goodreads Link

Barnes & Noble

Book Depository

Amazon

Indiebound

Books-A-Million

 

 

 

Check Out The Other Tour Stops!

unnamed-2.jpg

Giveaway!

Win a copy of Because You Love to Hate Me! Click Here to Enter!

 

Have you purchased your copy of Because You Love to Hate Me yet? Who is your favorite literary villain?  Thank you again to Jesse and Victoria for the Q&A Answers!

-Liv

11 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Q&A with Jesse The Reader and Victoria Schwab

  1. This whole anthology sounds great, and I know I’ll love Victoria’s story because I loved a couple of her books (Savage Song and Our Dark Duet). Thanks for hosting!
    And my favorite literary villains, off the top of my head, are probably Count Dracula (Dracula) and the White Witch (Narnia). 🙂

    Like

  2. This is definitely a book for me to read. I write short stories mostly so I love to find ones written by talented authors to study as well as just enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great interview, Liv! Victoria Schwab is my favorite, and after hearing that she modeled her story in this anthology after a folk song, I’m even MORE excited to read it! I also love the advice she gave to writers. And I’ll be interested to read something darker by Jesse! I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of this anthology.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

