Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Loved When I First Started Reading Young Adult

Hello everyone! Needless to say, my opinions in books has drastically changed since I first started blogging. If you go in the deep, dark trenches of my early Goodreads books, you’ll see almost all of these books. To save you the hassle, I thought I’d just list them here. Let’s get started!

 1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Who didn’t love these books in late 2010-2013? I remember so vividly when the movie was released. The Hunger Games was one of the first books I read that I truly fell in love with. Looking back, a 5th grader (aka me) probably shouldn’t be reading books like that so young. Although, I’m thankful I did because I probably wouldn’t be the reader I am today.

2. John Green’s Books

Ah, Mr. John Green, many of my first Young Adult reads were his books. I started with The Fault in Our Stars first, and then I read the rest of them (except for An Abundance of Katherines. I DNFed it).

3. Divergent by Veronica Roth

Many of these books are such basic YA books that pretty much everyone read. Divergent was no different. My Divergent obsession hit hard. I even dressed up with my friends for the midnight premiere of the movie; I dressed up as Dauntless. Looking back, I don’t think Divergent was even that great of a book. Especially later on in the trilogy with Insurgent and Allegiant. I’m just thankful for it because I wouldn’t be that big of a reader now.

4. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

The Mortal Instruments was one of the first YA series that I really loved. Again, I don’t think I would have liked them if I had read them now. However, I’m so glad I did because it really helped me get more into YA books.

5. Legend by Marie Lu

Unlike the other series/authors on this list, I still really love Marie Lu. All of her books are quite different from the other, and I’m glad she was one of the first YA authors I read.

6. If I Stay by Gayle Foreman

If I Stay was one of the first YA contemporaries I read besides John Green’s books. I actually read it right after I finished Harry Potter and I DEVOURED it.

7. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Looking back, the representation in this book definitely isn’t very good. However, this was one of the first contemporaries that I read when I first dove into my love for YA. I even crossed out all the swearing in the book :).

8. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

I remember when I first read this I loved it so much. It was right before the movie came out so everyone was very hyped about the series. However, I’m not as much of a fan as I was three years ago. I’m glad I read it all those years ago, but I don’t think I’d ever reread it or read any more of James Dashner’s books.

9. Delirium by Lauren Oliver

I actually picked up Delirium after a friend recommended it to me! I honestly don’t remember much about the trilogy (I haven’t even read a Lauren Oliver book since then).

10. Wonder by R.J. Palacio

Unlike some of the other books on this list, I still adore this book very much. I think it’s such a wonderful story with a great message.

One difference in my reading now and then is that I read so much more contemporaries now. I also read quite a bit more diverse novels. I’m glad that these books were my roots, but I’m so happy with the books I read now! 

What were some books you read when you first started reading? Did we read any of the same books? Let me know down in the comments!

-Liv

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Loved When I First Started Reading Young Adult

  1. The Fault in Our Stars is the only John Green book I’ve read; I’m not sure why but his other books just never interested me. I loved The Hunger Games, but I didn’t think that the other two books in the series were as good as the first.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

