Wonder Women: 25 Innovators, Inventors, and Trailblazers Who Changed History by Sam Maggs {Book Review}

I received this book from Quirk Books in exchange for an honest review. This in no way influences my opinions.

28503941Goodreads Link

Ever heard of Allied spy Noor Inayat Khan, a Muslim woman whom the Nazis considered “highly dangerous”? Or German painter and entomologist Maria Sibylla Merian, who planned and embarked on the world’s first scientific expedition? How about Huang Daopo, the inventor who fled an abusive child marriage only to revolutionize textile production in China?

Think of a scientist in all of history. You may be thinking of Albert Einstein, Thomas Edison, or even Sir Isaac Newton. What is one thing they all have in common? They are all men. No doubt, they did some incredible work. However, what I learned from Wonder Women is that there are countless women who have made groundbreaking discoveries in STEM, but they have been overlooked due to their gender.

I was surprised with how much I enjoyed Wonder Women. I went into this book with ‘meh’ expectations, but I was blown away with how much I loved this. The book covers everything from STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) to even Espionage (spy stuff…it’s as cool as it sounds). I was a bit worried that Wonder Women might be like a school-required reading assignment. I am not a big fan of science and math; I *usually* struggle in both of those subjects in school. With that being said, you don’t have to be a rocket scientist or a math wizard to enjoy Wonder Women. 

Sam Maggs wrote Wonder Women for people who aren’t experts in STEM. Sure, there are terms and phrases that may go over your heard. It’s nothing too extreme that will make you not understand the overall story. The book covers women from all backgrounds, ethnicities, sexualities, etc. It also includes interviews and short essays from women who currently work in STEM careers. Wonder Women not only talks about women through history, but it also encourages girls to pursue careers in STEM. This book is perfect for anyone who is a feminist and wants to learn about different contributions women have made in history. Overall, I enjoyed Wonder Women and will be rereading it again in the future.

So, what do I rate Wonder Women?

★★★★/5

Are you a feminist? Are you interested in reading Wonder Women? Have you read it already?

-Liv

6 thoughts on “Wonder Women: 25 Innovators, Inventors, and Trailblazers Who Changed History by Sam Maggs {Book Review}

  1. I haven’t heard too much about this book but from your review it sounds really good 😀 like something I’d love to read! It’s nice to think that some females who have done incredible things are finally getting some form of recognition but it’s also sad to think they’ve been ignored for so long 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment